Penang State

Known as the Pearl of the Orient, Penang has welcomed many visitors through the years since its founding.

Read More »

Malacca State

The ancestral birthplace of Malaysia, Malacca has acted as a gateway for the world into Malaysia's colonial history.

Read More »

Sabah State

Home to one of the world's most recongnisable animals, the Orang Utan, Sabah is a nature lover's paradise.

Read More »


The country Malaysia did not actually exist till 1963, when the Federation of Malaya, with the eleven states in the Peninsula, merged with three British colonies of Sabah, Sarawak and Singapore on the 16th of September. Singapore would eventually secede in 1965, and in the years to come, three Federal Territories were added, first FT Kuala Lumpur in 1974, then Labuan in 1984, and finally Putrajaya in 2001.

Differing in size and population, some states are better known that others, yet each remains an integral part of this vibrant country. To the north lie Perlis, Kedah, Kelantan and Terengganu, long time vassal states of nearby Thailand. The central states of Perak, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan and Pahang became the most developed states during the British colonial era, while at Johor at the south, would spark the birth of present day Malaysia as it modernised during the early 20th century under its illustrious ruler, Sultan Abu Bakar.

Most of the states trace their roots to the Malacca Sultanate, founded in the early 15th century by Parameswara, a prince from Palembang, Indonesia. The remaining states . Penang, Sabah and Sarawak, were established by ambitious Westerners, eager to make their mark in a faraway land. Each with their long and rich histories, they form seperate threads that come together to form a unique tapestry that is Malaysia.